Anneau vaginal

Anneau vaginal

Qu’est-ce qu’un anneau vaginal?

L’anneau vaginal, également appelé “anneau contraceptif” ou “NuvaRing”, est un petit anneau flexible qu’une femme peut insérer dans le vagin comme méthode contraceptive. Il a une épaisseur de 4 mm et un diamètre de 5,5 cm.

Il est porté pendant trois semaines, puis retiré pendant une semaine, avant de recommencer un nouveau cycle.

Efficacité de l’anneau vaginal

En cas d’utilisation parfaite, l’anneau vaginal empêchera la grossesse chez 99 femmes sur 100. Dans le cadre d’une utilisation typique, c’est-à-dire de la manière dont la plupart des personnes l’utilisent, l’anneau prévient la grossesse chez 93 femmes sur 100 [1].

Comment agit un anneau vaginal?

L’anneau contraceptif contient des œstrogènes et des progestatifs, semblables aux hormones œstrogènes et progestérone naturellement présentes dans le corps d’une femme. L’anneau libère les deux hormones qui sont ensuite absorbées à travers la paroi du vagin directement dans la circulation sanguine de la femme.

L’anneau prévient la grossesse de deux façons : il libère des hormones qui empêchent les ovaires de libérer des ovules et épaissit la glaire cervicale pour empêcher les spermatozoïdes d’atteindre l’ovule. Il protège de la grossesse pendant un mois complet [2].

Types d’anneau vaginal

Il existe deux types principaux d’anneaux vaginaux: les anneaux non réutilisables et les anneaux réutilisables.

L’anneau vaginal non réutilisable est jeté après un seul cycle d’utilisation. Les exemples sont le NuvaRing et l’EluRyng, qui sont prescrits pour trois semaines d’utilisation.

L’anneau vaginal réutilisable s’utilise de la même manière que l’anneau non réutilisable. Cependant, une fois retiré, au bout de trois semaines, il est lavé avec de l’eau tiède et du savon doux, séché et conservé pendant sept jours. Après la pause de sept jours, il est réinséré dans le vagin. Il contient des hormones qui peuvent être efficaces pendant un an, mais cela ne signifie pas qu’il ne doit pas être retiré pendant toute cette période. Au bout d’un an d’utilisation, il est jeté de la même manière que l’anneau non réutilisable. L’anneau vaginal Annovera en est un bon exemple.

À quoi ressemble un anneau vaginal?

Contraception Quiz

Not sure on the method? - Take our dynamic Contraception Quiz.
When it comes to sex, protection is as important as pleasure. But what should one do to start their safe sex journey? Answer some simple questions and based on the responses, we will recommend the next steps.

Take the quiz
External Condom

Compare with similar Contraceptive Methods

Are you wondering if condoms are better than daily pills? Or if you should opt for a birth control implant? We're here to assist you in making this decision. You can select up to 5 contraceptive methods and compare them side by side to weigh the pros and cons of each.

Give a try to our Contraceptive Tool

In the example below, you'll find similar methods to the one you're currently reading about. Feel free to click on any that catch your interest or revisit our Contraceptive Methods page

Our Monthly Top Articles

Les types de seins et comment savoir si on a un cancer du sein.

Les types de seins et comment savoir si on a un cancer du sein.

Chaque sein est unique. Même ceux qui se retrouvent sur la même poitrine peuvent se distinguer par une tache de beauté, un mamelon particulièrement placé ou même une différence de proportion. Peu i...

Quand faire un test de grossesse?

Quand faire un test de grossesse?

Si vous avez eu des rapports sexuels non protégés et que vous ne savez pas si vous êtes enceinte ou non, sachez que certains symptômes peuvent indiquer une grossesse, même à un stade précoce. Mais ...

Les types de seins et comment savoir si on a un cancer du sein.

Les types de seins et comment savoir si on a un cancer du sein.

Chaque sein est unique. Même ceux qui se retrouvent sur la même poitrine peuvent se distinguer par une tache de beauté, un mamelon particulièrement placé ou même une différence de proportion. Peu i...

Quand faire un test de grossesse?

Quand faire un test de grossesse?

Si vous avez eu des rapports sexuels non protégés et que vous ne savez pas si vous êtes enceinte ou non, sachez que certains symptômes peuvent indiquer une grossesse, même à un stade précoce. Mais ...

Boules brésiliennes : comment les utiliser pour pimenter les rapports sexuels et faire les exercices de Kegel

Boules brésiliennes : comment les utiliser pour pimenter les rapports sexuels et faire les exercices de Kegel

Nous, qui étions persuadés que nous savions tout ce qu’il y avait à savoir sur les jouets sexuels et les cosmétiques érotiques, sommes tombés sur un produit si simple, si nouveau et si excita...

Powered by Women First Digital

Vaginal Ring

Vaginal Ring

What is a Vaginal Ring?

The Vaginal Ring, which is also known as, the ‘Vaginal Contraceptive Ring’, ‘ Birth Control Ring’ or the NuvaRing, is a small, bendable ring that a woman can insert in the vagina as a form of contraception. It is 4mm thick and has a diameter of 5.5cm.

It is worn for three weeks, then removed for one week, before starting on another cycle.

Vaginal Ring Effectiveness

With perfect use, the vaginal Ring will prevent pregnancy in 99 out of every 100 women. With typical use or the way most people use it, the ring prevents pregnancy in 93 out of 100 women [1].

How does a vaginal ring work?

The contraceptive ring contains estrogen and progestin, similar to the estrogen and progesterone hormones naturally found in a woman’s body. The ring releases the two hormones which are then absorbed through the wall of the vagina directly into the woman’s bloodstream.

The ring prevents pregnancy in two ways: it releases hormones that prevent ovaries from releasing eggs and thickens your cervical mucus to block sperm from getting to the egg. It protects from pregnancy for one month at a time [2].

Types of Vaginal Rings

There are two main types of Contraceptive Vaginal Rings: non-reusable and reusable Rings.

The non-reusable. Vaginal Ring is disposed of after using it for a single cycle. Examples are NuvaRing and EluRyng, which are prescribed for three weeks of usage.

The reusable Vaginal Ring is also used in the same way as the non-reusable one. However, once it is removed, after three weeks, it is washed with mild water and soap, dried, and stored for seven days. After the seven-day break, it is inserted back into the vagina. It has hormones that can be effective for one year, but that does not mean that it should not be removed for the year. After a year, it is disposed of in the same way that we dispose of the non-reusable ring. A good example is the Annovera contraceptive vaginal ring.

What does a vaginal ring look like?

Contraception Quiz

Not sure on the method? - Take our dynamic Contraception Quiz.
When it comes to sex, protection is as important as pleasure. But what should one do to start their safe sex journey? Answer some simple questions and based on the responses, we will recommend the next steps.

Take the quiz
External Condom

Compare with similar Contraceptive Methods

Are you wondering if condoms are better than daily pills? Or if you should opt for a birth control implant? We're here to assist you in making this decision. You can select up to 5 contraceptive methods and compare them side by side to weigh the pros and cons of each.

Give a try to our Contraceptive Tool

In the example below, you'll find similar methods to the one you're currently reading about. Feel free to click on any that catch your interest or revisit our Contraceptive Methods page

Our Monthly Top Articles

Knowledge empowers, and we need empowered adolescents

Knowledge empowers, and we need empowered adolescents

By Poonam Muttreja In village Bairiya in Uttar Pradesh, a once-taboo-topic: sexual and reproductive health was brought out of the shadows through the transformative power of a television series on ...

Vasectomy FAQs

Vasectomy FAQs

Deciding on a vasectomy can bring a whirlwind of questions. That’s why we’ve put together these straightforward FAQs. Whether you’re contemplating the procedure or just curious, w...

Knowledge empowers, and we need empowered adolescents

Knowledge empowers, and we need empowered adolescents

By Poonam Muttreja In village Bairiya in Uttar Pradesh, a once-taboo-topic: sexual and reproductive health was brought out of the shadows through the transformative power of a television series on ...

Vasectomy FAQs

Vasectomy FAQs

Deciding on a vasectomy can bring a whirlwind of questions. That’s why we’ve put together these straightforward FAQs. Whether you’re contemplating the procedure or just curious, w...

Embarrassing sex stories

Embarrassing sex stories

Sex is a natural and pleasurable experience, but it can also be embarrassing or uncomfortable at times. In this article, we will explore some common embarrassing sex situations and provide tips on ...